News Page


Pittsburgh, Robert Morris a Finalist to host the Frozen Four

Thursday, October 31, 2013

Pittsburgh -- Robert Morris University, CONSOL Energy Center, and the City of Pittsburgh are one of ten finalists to host an upcoming NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship.

The finalists were announced by the NCAA on Wednesday and will have a chance to host one of four championships starting with the 2014-2015 season through the 2017-2018 season.

The ten finalists were selected by committees comprised of coaches and administrators of NCAA member institutions and conferences.

Joining Robert Morris with bids to host an upcoming Frozen Four are Hockey East (Boston, Mass. / TD Garden), the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference with Canisius and Niagara (Buffalo, N.Y. / First Niagara Center), ECAC Hockey (Brooklyn, N.Y. / Barclays Center), Penn State (Philadelphia, Pa. / Wells Fargo Center), Ohio State (Columbus, Ohio / Nationwide Arena), Navy (Washington, D.C. / Verizon Center), Minnesota (Saint Paul, Minn. / Xcel Energy Center), Notre Dame (Chicago, Ill. / United Center), and Wisconsin (Tampa, Fla. / Tampa Bay Times Forum).

Robert Morris, VisitPittsburgh, the Pittsburgh Penguins, and CONSOL Energy Center hosted the Frozen Four just last April as UMass-Lowell, St. Cloud State, Quinnipiac, and the National Champion Yale Bulldogs took to the ice in Downtown Pittsburgh.  During the week-long spectacle, over 35,000 people attended the three games while numerous others took part in the festivities around town.

The four winning sites will be selected and approved by the committees before being announced during a webcast on on Dec. 11.

Robert Morris University, founded in 1921, is a private, four-year institution with an enrollment of approximately 5,000 undergraduate and graduate students. The university offers 60 undergraduate and 20 graduate programs. An estimated 22,000 alumni live and work in western Pennsylvania.