News Page


RMU Honors Student-Athletes at 20th Annual All-Sports Banquet

Monday, April 14, 2014
April 13, 2014 - The Robert Morris University Department of Athletics honored its student-athletes for the 2013-14 school year Sunday at its 20th annual All-Sports Banquet, held at the Charles L. Sewall Center.

Led by master of ceremonies Chris Shovlin, the radio play-by-play voice of Colonial athletics for the last 27 years, Robert Morris presented most valuable player plaques to each of its 23 intercollegiate sports, while 13 individuals and one team were also honored, respectively, with major awards.

Garnering the Presidential Scholar-Athlete Award, presented by Robert Morris University President Dr. Greg Dell'Omo, was senior Thea Imbrogno (Etobicoke, Ontario / Mississauga Jr. Chiefs) of the women's ice hockey team and senior Sean Meagher (Chesterfield, Mo. / St. Louis University) of the men's lacrosse squad.

Imbrogno owns a 3.87 cumulative GPA as a biology major and finished her career with the Colonials as the program's all-time leader in points (122), assists (71) and power-play goals (25). Meagher was selected as the 2013 Northeast Conference Defensive Player of the Year and owns a 3.78 GPA while studying both accounting and finance. He owns RMU career records for caused turnovers (90) and caused turnovers per game (2.05) entering the final stretch of his senior season this spring.

Earning the honors for the Highest GPA Awards, which are bestowed to the senior student-athletes with the highest cumulative grade point average, are Anneline Lauziere (St. Thomas, Ontario / London Jr. Devilettes) of the women's ice hockey team and Carolina Mourao Teixeira (Rio De Janeiro, Brazil / Cruzeiro) of the women's tennis squad andTravis Denny (Beaver Falls, Pa. / Blackhawk) of the men's tennis squad.

Lauziere and Mourao-Teixeira each own cumulative GPA's of 3.98. Lauziere's major is biology, while Mourao-Teixeira studies engineering. Denny has compiled a 3.92 cumulative GPA over the last four years while studying biology.

The Robert Morris volleyball team earned the Team GPA award, presented by Robert Morris Assistant Director of Athletics Ryan Fleischer. The Colonials posted a 3.65 team GPA during the 2012-13 academic year, the highest of RMU's 23 Division I programs.

Taking home the RMU Athletic Department Appreciation Award, handed out by RMU Associate Athletic Director Addie Muti, was Pete Bubb of the RMU Maintenance Department. The RMU Athletic Department Appreciation Award is bestowed annually to an individual or individuals from outside the athletic department that display exemplary service.

Earning the 2014 Susan K. Hofacre Fan of the Year is Andre Frye, which was presented by Associate Athletic Director Don Smith.

RMU Senior Associate Athletic Director Marty Galosi passed out the honor of Oustanding Senior Female to Artemis Spanou (Rhodes, Greece / 6th Senior HS of Nea Smyrni) of the women's basketball team and the Outstanding Senior Male to Karvel Anderson (Elkhart, Ind. / Glen Oaks Community College) of the men's basketball squad and Chris Carper (Altoona, Pa. / Altoona) of the men's track & field squad.

The winners of the sixth annual Strength & Conditioning Student-Athletes of the Year, presented to a male and a female by RMU head strength & conditioning coach Todd Hamer, were awarded to Spanou on the women's side and senior Mike Cook (Victoria, Minn. / Winona State) of the football team on the men's side.

Taking home the Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) award for 2014, which was presented by senior Leah Prentice (Gaithersburg, Md. / Quince Orchard) of the women's soccer team, was sophomore forward Matt Cope (Lakewood, Colo. / Wenatchee Wild) of the men's ice hockey squad.

A total of 27 student-athletes were honored with MVP plaques at the 2014 All-Sports Banquet. To view the complete list of award winners, please download the attached PDF file.