Presidential Undergraduate Award Winners at SNHS

Top students in Nursing and Nuclear Medicine Technology programs honored.

Thomasina Chirgott
Thomasina Chirgott and President Chris Howard at the Presidential Undergraduate Achievement Awards.

In the School of Nursing and Health Sciences, the 2018 winners of the Presidential Undergraduate Awards are Nursing major Thomasina Chirgott and Nuclear Medicine Technology major Chelsee Gavel.
Ten graduating seniors were honored with the Robert Morris University 2018 Presidential Undergraduate Awards. The awards recognize the two outstanding students in each of the five schools, as chosen by the deans and faculty. As a tradition, each year students chosen for the honor bring the faculty or staff mentor who inspired them as a guest to the ceremony.
Nursing major Thomasina Chirgott helped to establish a CPR program at RMU and became a CPR instructor. By the time Thomasina graduates, she will have taught CPR to over 100 people. Thomasina became a part of the American Red Cross Club, founded Fall 2017. She is the treasurer of the group. Thomasina has mentored/tutored many students as a RISE center lab worker. She is critical to student success. She is also the student recommended to help those who really struggle to grasp content. Her organization and easygoing manner makes her an effective educator. Lastly, Thomasina has participated in tours for students who visit RMU. She warm and provides wonderful insight into what it takes to be a successful nursing student.
Nuclear medicine technology major Chelsee Gavel has participated in dance team at RMU for two years and was nominated and has participated in the Dean's advisory board for the past three years. She was president of the nuclear medicine club. Her nuclear medicine clinical sites included UPMC Passavant and The Washington Hospital. She is currently working towards a dual-certification at UPMC Passavant and is in process to complete her MRI clinical rotation. In her senior year she was hired as a nuclear medicine tutor. She was inducted into the National Society of Collegiate Scholars during her sophomore year. She is a two time recipient of the Dean's Scholar award. She will be graduating with the honor of Magna Cum Laude (3.75 QPA). She has already been hired and is working at Butler Memorial Hospital as a Nuclear Medicine Technologist.
“We are so proud of these students,” said Dean Howard. “They truly are the best of the best.”